Sunday, 5 November 2017

Only The Innocent - Rachel Abbott


An Amazon Number One Bestseller 

A man is dead. The killer is a woman. But what secrets lie beneath the surface - so dark that a man has to die? 

Women are rarely cold blooded killers. But when famous philanthropist Hugo Fletcher is found dead, there is no doubt in anybody's mind that the killer is a woman. And it is clear from the precision of the planning that this was no crime of passion. It was an execution. 

The victim was revered the world over for his charitable work with trafficked Eastern European prostitutes, and as at least one of these girls is missing, Detective Chief Inspector Tom Douglas is certain that there has to be a connection. 

But nothing is as it appears on the surface. A web of complex relationships is gradually revealed and it seems that everybody has something to hide. As each horrific secret is exposed, Tom Douglas begins to realise that this is much more than a simple murder case. And he has a terrible dilemma to face - whether to punish the guilty, or protect the innocent. 


I've had this book on my kindle for nearly 6 years. I've heard great things of this author, so started this book.

OMG the storyline is compelling and knowing it goes on behind closed doors still. Who killed Hugo Fletcher? What has the prostitutes got to do with his murder? All will be revealed in Only The Innocent.

Saturday, 4 November 2017

Cocktails and Dreams by A.L. Michael


A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person… 

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and begins to plan a future she can be excited about.

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams?


I was offered to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

This started off really good with how Savannah Curtis was left with her aunt as her mother was this big singing star who dumped her when she was 7 years old, she's about to walk out on a man who's taken 10 years of her life. Has a job she loves, but just stays in the background.


What happens when she meets a bartender who mixes these drinks and she starts feeling her life could be more. What happens when her mother wants to come into her life after 20 years. Find out what happens between Savannah, Clare aka Persphone Black and Milo (the bartender) in this exciting 1st series of Martini Club.

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

The Girl at the End of the Road by K.A. Hitchins



A man loses everything he values in life. He will have to return to the past if he wants to discover his future.

Vincent Stevens is moving back home after losing everything in the economic downturn – high-flying city job, swanky flat and trophy girlfriend. The small Suffolk village of his birth is no more exciting than he remembers. He wants his old life back, at any cost. First he must disentangle himself from family obligations and the strange friendship he has struck up with the enigmatic Sarah, a girl from his past and the antithesis of everything he most admires. A shocking discovery forces him to make the biggest decision of his life. Will he return to a world defined by winners and losers, or will he choose love?


I was offered this book in return for a review. I would like to thank the author for allowing me to read this book.

I found it quite hard going as it took me a bit of time to get into the book. I wasn't sure what I was expecting to read and find out about in the book. I've never read anything from the author before. 

You'd be mistaken it was a love story between 2 people. A man down on his luck (having lost his job, girlfriend and home), to moving back to his parents in Elmsford. He meets an old school friend who works as a librarian. 

He finds out more about himself as he and his friend get to know each other. It also covers a slight part of Autism and driving lessons.

Friday, 24 February 2017

Cold Mourning (Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery #1) by Brenda Chapman



Nominated for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel

When murder stalks a family over Christmas, Kala Stonechild trusts her intuition to get results.

It’s a week before Christmas when wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air — with more than enough people wanting him dead. 

New police recruit Kala Stonechild, who has left her northern Ontario detachment to join a specialized Ottawa crime unit, is tasked with returning Underwood home in time for the holidays. Stonechild, who is from a First Nations reserve, is a lone wolf who is used to surviving on her wits. Her new boss, Detective Jacques Rouleau, has his hands full controlling her, his team, and an investigation that keeps threatening to go off track. 

Old betrayals and complicated family relationships brutally collide when love turns to hate and murder stalks a family.


I would like to thank Netgalley for allowing me a copy of this wonderful 1st book in the Stonechild & Rouleau series.

When I first started reading this a couple of days ago. I found it to be quite weird to know why Lily & Sunny was being introduced to the story. Thinking that the rest of the story would go on looking for them in the case that they were either missing or murdered, I carried on reading.

Thinking that Tom Underwood's disappearance had something to do with the 2 girls at the beginning made me carry on reading. Then it drew me in further to know whether or not they were to do with his disappearance. I guessed something was up about the girls as it got closer to the end of the book (I was right on 1 thing and wrong on other aspects). But I loved the way it made me carry on reading through the story.

This won't be the last book I read of Brenda Chapman's Stonechild and Rouleau series as I found the characters to be kind and simple (well most of them anyway lol).

Saturday, 11 February 2017

The TROUBLE with BILLIONAIRES: Book 3 by Kristina Blake



Ever since I saw his first movie, I’ve lusted after sexy heart-throb, Logan Mitchell. Imagine my surprise when Logan is stricken with a drug-induced seizure, and I’m left alone to make sure that the man who makes my pulse race is going to be okay. 

The “zing” of attraction that I feel for him is undeniable, and my gut tells me he feels the same way. If only he would let his wall down enough to let me in—permanently. 

My heart tells me that this is the man of my dreams. Yet, my head is plagued with doubt. After all, he seems to have a deep, intimate connection with my best friend, Madison. Is it more than a friendship between them, and what secrets do they share? 

Can this gorgeous movie star ever transition from a fantasy to a reality for me? Or will I end up with a broken heart and a broken friendship? 


The final book in the series of The Trouble with Billionaires.

This ends up tying the loose ends of what all 3 men and their love interests are about. You meet Madison who is in love with Rawn Jackman who is her boss's boss and also a man with secrets as well as Madison, Mellisa who is in love with Conrad Goldstein who's ex wife has a medical condition and is the PR guru for the company as well as Mellisa is hiding from someone (and if they find her, her real identity will tear her apart) and finally Annie who's madly in love with Logan Mitchell who's a film star and is hiding a secret only Madison knows. What makes it more interesting is that someone is out to hurt Rawn Jackman by the only way necessary. Through Madison Miller and they will do ANYTHING to get to him.


Read this installments of The Trouble with Billionaires to find out if they find the culprit. Did Logan tell Annie his secret? Did Conrad find out who Mellisa is really? What is Madison originally hiding and has it anything to do with Rawn Jackman's situation????

Friday, 10 February 2017

The TROUBLE with BILLIONAIRES: Book 2 by Kristina Blake



Tragedy…it’s what I know. 

I have spent years moving from city to city, avoiding personal connections, and simply trying to stay alive. The plan has always been the same: keep a low profile until they find me, then—once they do—move again. 

When someone kidnapped my friend and co-worker, Madison Miller, it quickly became clear that it was a case of mistaken identity—because I was the person they really wanted. 

Unfortunately, the person assigned to protect me also knows about my past life. Spending time with the sexy billionaire, Conrad Goldstein, may prove to be more than my head and my heart can handle. 

Can I trust him with my heart and my life? Or will I end up losing both? 


I gave this a 4 star as the story carried on from where book 1 left off. Wasn't overly excited with the storyline going in between Madison and Mellisa. Sometimes it got confusing why the story was going in between once Madison's part was dealt with. I think it would of been ideal to get background information on the characters to what the story was about. 


I think the 2 other Billionaires stories (background) would of been ideal as well once they start explaining stuff to their love interest. But otherwise a good story.

Thursday, 9 February 2017

The TROUBLE With BILLIONAIRES: Book 1 by Kristina Blake



You can do this, I told myself.

“So you're a Taurus? Does that mean you're hung like a bull?”

“What makes you think I'm a Taurus?” he asked smoothly.

“Your muscles, they're practically ripping through your suit. And the power in the way you walk. You're a big, bad bull. And I'm in need of a ride.”

He laughed, but it wasn't giddy. It was deep and sophisticated, like him. “And what are you?”

“Everything you have ever dreamed of.”

With the last of my courage, I looked him straight in his eyes, full of intent. “Meet me at the sundial at midnight tonight. I want to fuck you underneath the stars,” 



Don't get me wrong. I’ve always played by the rules — like any good girl should — graduating from college early and landing my dream job. 

One night of passion under the stars, with a complete stranger, was my idea of a perfect carefree ending before I focus all my time and energy into my career. 

Only that’s not how things went. 

That Taurus in the park? He turned out to be a jackass. Because no decent man will give a woman the most incredible sex in her life then leave her - blindfolded, naked and lost in the woods in the middle of the night! 

Oh, and it doesn't end there. That jackass ended up being my boss, Rawn Jackman. 


I started reading this on iBooks and felt that I needed this on my Kindle. So I downloaded all 3 in the series.

It starts off slow and you wonder why Madison is interested in this bloke. It becomes clear as the story carries on what is the relationship between Rawn Jackman and Madison Miller. The sex parts aren't that explicit but the story is quite good.